I finally got into the next StarCraft 2 Beta. This one, for the new launcher. What can I say? I like to beta test. It’s in my blood. So I’d been wanting to try this one for a quite a while.
Usually I’d like on a SC2 desktop icon to launch the game. Which would open the launcher. At which point I’d have to click the Start button. Then wait for the loading on the full screen game. Then click connect. Then enter a password and press Return. And then, after more loading, I’d finally be in the game.
I complained about what a mission it was to simply playing a fucking game of StarCraft in a previous post. 4 gate WaitCraft, I believe was the name.
Well the new launcher changes all of that. Now the launcher just sits around in my task bar. When I want to play, I right click on that, and then click on StarCraft. Which brings up a new launcher. Where I click play. Here’s the good part. I don’t have to click another button or enter my password. I just click play on the launcher, wait, and when it’s done I’m in the game. (where I can click on multiplayer and play to join the que to play)
I have to say, this is an improvement. I don’t have to enter my password anymore. So yay for Blizzard. But still, I wish they would have given an option to join the ladder que at the launcher level. I mean, most people who play StarCraft keep doing the same thing. Every day 1v1 ladder, in my case. Wouldn’t it have been nice to go directly into the que from there?
Anyway, since it shortens the process of actually playing a game of StarCraft, and reduces redundancy in password typing, I’m all for it. Yay Blizzard, thumbs up from me.