Saturday, August 1, 2015

2 Gateway Adept Rush, ftw

So today, for the first time in a long time, I was able to log into StarCraft 2 and have a few games. Nothing had been stopping me before, really, except for a lack of desire to play. But if you’ve been watching StarCraft recently, you’ll have seen on twitch.tv a lot of Archon mode tournaments I’m not sure whose behind those tournaments, but I’ve enjoyed watching them. One thing's for sure. the pros still have a lot of ground to cover when it comes to mastering Archon mode.
But what really got me to log into StarCraft was the Blizzard launcher. Which I was only looking at because I have been gifted by Blizzard a free week of WoW time. But anyway, I see a clickable ad, something about StarCraft’s five year anniversary. Now if you’re familiar with Blizzard games, you’ll know that they love to give free shit to people who log in on certain days. So I logged into StarCraft but I didn’t appear to get any sort of icon. I tried the regular old HotS and Beta LotV, but nothing. Maybe I was too late.
So I play a few games as random and what do I find? A really nice little rush built for a Protoss. It’s nothing so out of the ordinary, per se. But it is a nice little character study in their new Adept unit.
Basically, you make a pylon with your first probe You take a single gas. You build a second gateway after your cyber core. Then, you start pumping out waves of Adepts, rallying them towards your opponent’s base.
It certainly worked against me in a PvP game where I had intended to give gate. Do you hear that? This little two gateway adept rush can counter a five gate pretty handily. Which is why I think it has a lot of potential. Finally, toss has the harass/scout early game unit they really need. I immediately tried out the build in the next match I played as toss. That wound up being a PvT, and the T had walled off. So the rush was kinda race countered. But I did get a lot of scouting for my effort. Most terran players will make marauders,which really such against adepts. And I kept that terran player to a single base for a very long time, while expanding behind that harass.
So yeah, adept rushes, deal with ‘em.
I also have to take the opportunity to talk about the new Legacy of the Void release, which is upcoming. You see, I just got burned. Hard. By buying the new Mortal Kombat X game on PC. It sucked so bad, I wound up buying a PS4 just to play the frigging game. And the conclusion I came to was never, ever, prepurchase your video games, especially if they’re on the PC.
As a matter of fact, why had I been so stupid in the first place to ever preorder a game like that? Then I realized the answer. It was because, before MKX, pretty much every game I play is a Blizzard game. And let’s give some credit to the Blizz guys, they make *solid* games.
This is one instance where it’s the rest of the industry that is to blame. They’re the ones that have deadlines and have to rush things. And in a way, you really can’t blame them. They have to deal with issues that Blizzard never would have to, like having to coordinate with console versions.
But knowing what I know now about how gaming is for PC vs Consoles, I’m really put in a tight spot. Basically, the only reason why I have a bulky old fashioned, plug into the wall PC anymore is that it can play StarCraft. That’s literally the only thing it can do that my phone can’t. But without that advantage, there’s little reason to keep those dinosaur PCs around. It makes a lot of sense to me now that the future of gaming really should be on a console. And what’s the problem? I mean, consoles have usb ports now. It’s not hard to plug your keyboard and mouse into a console and play StarCraft 2 (WarCraft 4, if you catch my drift).

No comments:

Post a Comment